Prospecting For Treasure

Always prospecting for the next treasure of an idea.

Focus

I finished reading the book, Focus:  Elevating the Essentials to Radically Improve Student Learning, by Mike Schmoker. It was given to each of the teachers in my building, by our principal for summer reading.

Schmoker advocates Simplicity, Clarity and Priority.  By this he means we need to simplify our curriculum by cutting the number of standards down, selecting only the most important, and then teaching them thoroughly, using recognized good consistent teaching.  I don’t agree with everything he has to say, but there are definitely some things I will take from this book.  I talked about it in my last post, and shared my plans for writing about the books we are reading here.

Please visit my other blog, Day In the Classroom, and read my review.

July 26, 2011 - Posted by | Reading | ,

1 Comment »

  1. In my experience, its not how many standards must be accomplished but rather the emphasis on standardized testing. One test (or one mode of showing knowledge) cannot possibly show what every child knows. People learn in different ways, which means they show what they know in different ways. If a child fails, its assumed they don’t know that standard or they were not exposed to that standard enough. There needs to be a major overhaul in how we assess students.

    Comment by C.B. Wentworth | July 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment